supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Glass City Training Plan

2 Comments

It’s that time of year again.  Yes, it’s February.  Yes, the mild spring-esque temperatures have been replaced by the howling winds barreling across the lake to punchasize us all in the face.  Yes, there’s probably still more than 6, nay, more like 8 weeks left of winter.  But it’s that time.  Time to put ye olde nose to the grindstone, asphalt, treadmill belt, whatever.  I’m officially in #trainingmode.

20130919-223752

I’m running the Mercy Health Glass City Marathon again.  Actually the Owens Corning Half Marathon, because you will know that pigs have started flying the day I register for a full.  This week has marked Week 1 of training and I’ve been a good little runner and have been logging my miles, times, and feelings.  Oh, so many feelings.

Hopefully I’m ready to stop being the Queen of Sickness and Spreader of All the Germs, finally.  After my sweet time of a sinus infection, I got better for like 3-4 days and then decided health was not as much fun.  So, I promptly contracted strep and an eye infection.  I frolicked in fields of antibiotics again and am hopefully moving onto better things.  Like having energy.

brave-get-well-ecard-someecards

I’m using Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Training Plan again with some minor tweaks since it seemed to work out well last go round.  It’s amazing what a difference a year makes, because I feel like I’ve already run outside more during one week than I was able to for the entirety of February last year.  Can I express how much I hate snow?snow-day-fun

I’m hoping I can build off the solid Fall I had with my training and put together a good race at the end of April.  I guess it’s time to put my big girl pants on, train smart, train hard, and not put up any excuses.  You know, besides complaining about snow.  I’m always good for that.

2 thoughts on “Glass City Training Plan

  1. Good luck with training! I love that you run this race each year and blog your training for it. It’s always fun to compare progress and training for the same race, same course.

    • Thanks! It always helps when that same race is one you really enjoy, makes the training process and progress even more worthwhile! Time to get back to blogging more on the regular

Leave a Reply

