supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

GCM Owens Corning Half Week 9 & 10 Training

4 Comments

Hark! Why have my posts become a day short, a dollar late, and chock full of excuses?  Well, the excuses part I can explain…ha.

Just when you think everything is going wonderful and dandy with your training, things have a way of “coming apart at the seams”, or “having the wheels fall off” or insert whatever cliched phrase you care to use.  I’m obviously being overly dramatic, but still, things have become a little chaotic and busy in my life, which has created less than ideal training and less than ideal blogging.  Waa.

First, we had a rash of illness go through our house.  Baby J wound up going 3 different time to the pediatrician because as much as I’m trying not to be that overly cautious Mom, I’m pretty sure I am just that.  He likely had a nasty viral infection, which progressed to another ear infection, and other rashlike symptoms.  But the good news, it’s not measles! (not that I was concerned that it could be).  Baby J promptly, like a good baby that he is, gave all his illness to his mother.  Gross chest and nasal symptoms ensued for over 2 weeks and I just now feel like I’m getting back to my normal self.

Hubby also had surgery on Monday, which has made us a one woman show in our house for the next 2 weeks, and this show is not a comedy–believe me, although I’m sure NBC would still pick it up for a 2nd season.  While Hubs is on the road to recovery, I’ve been learning the art of doing housework, cooking, and pottying all while holding a baby.

And then of course, I decided that missing a long run during Week 9 was NBD and promptly ramped my mileage into overdrive for Week 10.  Cue: cranky Achilles tendon.  Idiot, Eli.  I of all people should know that overtraining and sudden increase in mileage=bad news, but of course I attempted to do my 11 miles at an overly fast pace and on terrain (a bit hilly) I never run.  So now I’m hoping that it of course calms down before race day, because we have less than 2 weeks to go!

Excuses over.

Week 9 Training:
Monday–Day of Rest
Tuesday–3 easy miles on Treadmill
Wednesday–5 miles through neighborhood. I think.  I use DailyMile to keep track of my running shenanigans because when I’m this late writing up training recaps, it’s helpful.  Except I forgot to record this run, crap.
Thursday–10 mile long run.  My make up day for my delayed long run due to baby illness.  Except I started to feel quite yuck on this day, and knew that my immune system had been compromised.  Abort, abort.
Friday–Rest Day.  Feel like crap on a stick day.
Saturday–4 miles.  Key point, attempted running to help my congestion.  This is never a good idea.  I felt worse.
Sunday–Tried to run with J in the stroller.  Made it a half mile, convinced myself I had asthma, and walked home in defeat.  Skipped doing my 15k race sim obviously.
Totals: 22 miles

Week 10 Training:
Monday–Day of Rest
Tuesday–3 miles on Treadmill with strength.  Felt like garbage.
Wednesday–5 miles easy.  Supposed to feel easy, but didn’t.  Still feeling like I ingested a troll.
Thursday–5.5 miles tempo.  Supposed to be a “tempo”.  Except, all I did was run longer at the same pace as the day before.  Body not having it.
Friday–Rest Day
Saturday–5 miles at race pace.  Felt horrible still.  This cold is kicking my butt.
Sunday–11 mile long run.  I felt much better on this run.  Like closer to my normal self, but now I’m dealing with the aftermath.  A very tight, sore, and angry Achilles.  I can’t win.
Totals: 29 miles

Less than 2 weeks remain until Glass City.  You can still sign up for the Marathon, Half Marathon, and 5k!  Please considering joining me on race day.

4 thoughts on “GCM Owens Corning Half Week 9 & 10 Training

  1. You got this! Way to go on your Sunday 11 miler. Sorry you’re feeling tight now – but at least it was somewhat of a motivational run? I hear ya on the colds kicking your butt. My body is not feeling top notch and I’ve been struggling through all of my runs. Good luck with finishing up your training!

  2. I’m glad you got your training in despite all the sickness and life craziness! I bet you’ll do really well in the race too, you’ve had some great training runs.

Leave a Reply

