supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

GCM Owens Corning Half Marathon Week 2 Training

Leave a comment

Week 2 completed.  It was much more difficult getting some outdoors running done this past week because of how poo-tastic the weather was.  Doing long runs on the treadmill of doom is never how I enjoy spending my morning.  However, I did catch up on the current season of Parks and Recreation (could Ron Swanson get anymore awesome? I submit not).  And I’m thinking that there really does need to be an annual Treat Yo Self Day.

treatyoself

Here’s how my 2nd week shook out:
Monday–was supposed to be a stretch and strengthen day.  That didn’t happen.  By the time I got home from work I was exhausted and wanted nothing to do with any exercise.  Starting the week out on an awesome foot.
Tuesday–Tempo Run.  Sort of.  The wind chill made it feel about 10 degrees outdoors (or less), so I found it really hard to run faster than an 8 minute mile pace.  At least what research I’ve looked at agrees that running in very frigid temps are nearly as bad as hot temps.  3.35 miles in 27 minutes.
Wednesday–Easy Run.  Warmer day.  Crazy how my pace was not much slower than the day before but felt 10 times better.  I hate weather.  3.1 miles in 25ish minutes..
Thursday–Easy Run on the treadmill.  3 miles in 26 minutes.  Felt like crap.
Friday–Rest Day.
Saturday–6 miles in 51 minutes on the treadmill.  Long run.  Felt like I got a kink in my neck from looking down to watch Parks and Rec.  Oh the sacrifices I make for my TV shows.
Sunday–3 miles in 25 minutes on Ye Olde Treadmill.  Basked in the stale stench of the treadmill fan and celebrated that I am 16% through my training.  BAM!

This week definitely could have been better.  I could have actually completed some strength training, which has sorely been missing from training lately.  Bench pressing a baby does not count.  I could have gotten outside more, but Mother Nature had other plans for that.  In the form of lots of lake effect snow with butt numbing coldness.

Hopefully the next few weeks allow for some warmer temperatures because at this point I’ll take anything above 20 degrees!  I definitely max out at about 1 hour on the treadmill before I start forgetting that I need to move my legs and I begin to get dangerously close to shooting myself off the back.funny-girl-running-treadmill

Leave a Reply

