supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

GCM Owens Corning Half Marathon Week 1 Training

2 Comments

Like I have stated in a previous post, I am using Hal Higdon’s training plan to get my ready to toe the line for the Glass City Marathon’s Owens Corning Half Marathon on April 26.  The Intermediate plan entails a 12 week training plan, which by my calculations, meant finally getting underway this past week.  The plan I’m using involves running 5 days per week, having 1 complete rest day, and 1 stretching/strengthening day.  I often modify as I find my body needs, so I am sure there will be times I substitute cross training for some of my easy run days.  This week, though, I was able to follow my plan exactly.

Monday–Stretch and Strengthen.  This involved doing chair squats, heel raises off the edge of our steps, stationary lunges, bridges, single leg bridges, and a bunch of core work.  Essentially, I had to do all body weight exercises due to being in the comfort of my own living room.

Tuesday–3 miles completed (at 8:13/mile pace) in the basement.  On the treadmill.  Where bad runs go to pass.  20150131_095603

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday–3 miles completed with 5×400 speedwork including warm-up and cool-down.  I hate running speedwork on a treadmill.  The only thing that helped was imagining how bad slamming into our styrofoam covered wall would likely hurt should I fling myself off the back.

Thursday–3 miles completed (at 8:24/mile pace) in the basement again.  On the treadmill again.  Accompanied only by the sweet sounds of our furnace and missed episodes of Hart of Dixie (yes, guilty pleasure watching).  Missing the sweet cold air and horrendous breezes off the Lake.

Friday–Rest day.

Saturday–5 miles completed (at 8:13/mile pace) outdoors.  I was super happy.  Until I realized that all my treadmill running as of late is killing my fitness.  As in, I no longer know how to run up or down hills or into wind.  Essentially, my confidence with my fitness/running is sucktastic.

Sunday–3.25 miles completed (at 7:41/mile pace).  Outdoors again.  Trying to encourage myself to run faster than an 8/mile pace.  It worked sort of.  Except I felt like I was grossly sucking wind.  Again, confidence low.

20150208_11062120150208_115713

Total=17 miles

I do like that Hal’s plans include a gradual increase in mileage since it’s been 2+ years since I’ve attempted anything beyond 6 miles for a race.  Not liking that my fitness is not where I thought it was, but hey that’s life and something I can work through.  It’s hard to remind myself that, “Hey self, you did just have a baby 6 months ago! Your body is not used to this and your muscles are not in as good of shape as they used to be! (because carrying the baby does not count as resistance training as much as I wish it would)” The good news is that I have 11 weeks to get where I need to be, which is plenty of time to do anything!  Now I can only hope that the snow piles continue to melt, the temperatures begin to warm up, and daylight continues to lengthen, so I can get more of my training outdoors.  Hopefully with this little guy in tow.

IMG_20150207_121513-MIX

Happy Training!

2 thoughts on “GCM Owens Corning Half Marathon Week 1 Training

  1. Sounds like you did a good job completing all your runs this week- good luck with training for the half 🙂

Leave a Reply

