supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

One Month Update

2 Comments

Time is flying by and not flying by; if that makes any sense.  I feel like each day holds a new challenge in parenthood.  Yesterday, we dealt with a seriously unhappy boy.  Today, we got to experience what a sleepy baby is like.  Each day Mike and I are trying to navigate this whole parenthood thing with a smile on our face, even though there are so many challenging and trying moments.  Patience has never been my virtue, but I feel like James is helping me to become a better version of myself.  I am trying to become that nurturing, patient, loving, kind, role model and Mother to him.  It’s definitely hard to do, because there are days that I feel like I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing!  I guess that’s what that whole phrase of “fake it until you make it” means.  I use that mantra especially during the 1 hour colicky crying spells, when I attempt to position the babe in 1,000 different positions until I can find that 1 position that helps.  Thank goodness that colic resolves in a few months!

I can’t believe that I already have been off work for 6 weeks and only have 6 more weeks of maternity leave left.  Yikes!  I am definitely trying to savor these moments, even if trying, because they are fleeting.  This baby boy is growing so fast and in 6 weeks I will not get to spend everyday with him.  I am sad about this fact, that I will be returning to work, but a return to work will also help me get to put back on one of my many hats: physical therapist.  It’s definitely something I miss, my professional working life, but I am sure once I return to work I will be missing my baby’s cute face.  No one ever said parenting would be easy!

James, or Sweet Baby James as he’s often called, as I mentioned is growing like a weed.  He was 11 pounds, 6 ounces and 22.5 inches at his 1 month pediatrician appointment.  I like to call him my “milk monster”, “ginormous baby”, “little chunk”, and “monster baby”.  He is definitely going to be a big boy!

I am definitely feeling like I am nearly back to 100% in terms of how my body feels and functions.  I doubt I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight (I don’t like to acknowledge the scale) and my stomach still feels rather squishy (yuck).  My hair is enjoying falling out in chunks and decorating our carpets like I am shedding dog (one of the lovely things they don’t tell you about the post-partum period).  But I can definitely say I excited to get back to running in less than 2 weeks (not that I’m counting) and starting to hit up the weights and doing ab exercises again.  My squishy body needs it!

Some updated photos of SBJ at 1 month:

IMG_6759

He may just be a little fussy sometimes, but we love him anyways!

IMG_6768

Our little man!

IMG_6770

He likes to rock the formal onesie

IMG_6762

2 thoughts on “One Month Update

Leave a Reply

