supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

21 Weeks

2 Comments

Hark! The belly haveth arrived finally.  What a difference a week makes.  I would never have imagined that from 20 to 21 weeks that I would see such a change, but alas Baby Mason is finally making his or her presence known.  Both on my poor pubic bone and on my bladder.  Thanks, ya little nugget.

At 21 Weeks, Baby Mason is now the size of 3/4 of a pound (more than any of my food babies have ever been) and is 10.5 inches long.  Essentially we are now working with a carrot.

Image

This past week has brought some new changes.  For one, my stomach has gotten bigger, causing me to switch to my larger workout tops, maternity tops for work, and rocking the Bag Lady look in my home.  I continue to sleep like the worst person ever, waking up every 1-2 hours to roll over and switch sidelying positions.  I have struggled to stay on my left side only, because I usually wake up the next day and feel like an angry man hit my hip with a croquet mallet.  (Good imagery, I know).

The past few runs I have done have also been a struggle.  Not a struggle due to energy, shortness of breath, terrible pace, or waddling.  A struggle because I am pretty positive now that my pelvis absolutely hates me and has decided to dysfunction itself.  Although I plan to ask my Doctor at my next visit, I have self diagnosed it as SPD or Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction.  AKA the dysfunction that feels like your pubic bone is ripping apart or has become replaced by an occasional shard of glass.  I am strongly considering investing in a maternity belt, so if anyone has any recommendations on specific brands they would definitely be appreciated!  Crazy that something so small can already be wreaking so much havoc on my poor, narrow, ill prepared hips.  Apparently Baby Mason has not gotten the memo that he or she needs to be shaped like a noodle to help this poor Momma out.

Image

Here I am demonstrating a nice posterior pelvic tilt and trying to tuck it in.  Not happenin.

Image

And this is the “I don’t even care anymore” pose

2 thoughts on “21 Weeks

  1. I love reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

