supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

And Now For Something Completely Different…

2 Comments

My last post was sort of misleading.  It was completely void of the incredible news that has permeated my life now for 14 weeks.  It is the main reason that my blog has been sitting here, hanging onto its lonely self like a sad clown.  My blog was sitting lonely because I waiting for the right time to change my focus.  I am still running, as much as I can in fact.  However, the focus of my running is no longer on gaining a new PR, attempting a new distance, or starting a new training cycle.  My focus on running is now to stay healthy…because, really, it’s no longer about running for my health.  It’s about running for the health of Baby Mason

Image

Yes, people, we are having a baby.  No more joking about food babies, burrito babies…there is an actual baby that will be coming into our lives near/around July 12, 2014.  We really could not be more excited, nervous, scared, happy, or thankful.

How I’ve Been Feeling:
Weeks 6-10 were a little rough in terms of fatigue.  I would get home from work, crash on the couch, moan that I didn’t want to ever move again, shower, and pass out at promptly 8:30-9PM.  Rinse, Wash, Repeat.  I never experienced any morning sickness, although I did have some nausea associated with not eating frequently enough.  Cue: Gingerbread cookies (because, ya know, ginger settles your stomach right? ) and Saltine Crackers (my Mom’s go to stomach flu cure).  My running was nearly non existent during this time because I literally was tired from just trying to maintain homeostasis.  As for food aversions, during this time period I hated everything except for bland foods–bagels, peanut butter, cereal, etc.  Carbo loading is appropriate for the first trimester right?

I am now finally starting to get my energy and appetite back.  Just in time to have caught the funky funk that is bronchitis.  An antibiotic later and I am feeling much better and no longer hacking up multiple lungs throughout the day.  I am sure Baby Mason wasn’t enjoying the trampoline effect from cough for the past 2 weeks either; I know I definitely wasn’t.  I am hoping with my energy back that I will be able to catch up on my household responsibilities and get back up to running 3-4 days per week.  My goal is to continue this as long as I am able to.

 

Here’s to the Start of What is Going to be a Wonderful, Rewarding Journey into Parenthood…
I can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “And Now For Something Completely Different…

  1. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOUR GUYS! and Baby Mason could share a bday with baby cooper!

Leave a Reply

