supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Eli in the Jungle

4 Comments

With #OperationComeback in full force, I have tentatively been getting back into the swing of things.  I have continued to cross train, strength train, and throw in the intermittent run.  My goal has been to start with 3 days per week with running and I have found that is more than enough.  I have been a good little girl in that I now STRETCH both BEFORE and AFTER my runs (what the heck is that concept!?) and use things that are referred to as ICE and sometimes IBUPROFEN if I am a little sore.  I am listening to my body and my body is responding with a big

“WTF is this Eli and where did the old one go.

I even put on my big girl pants and in a fit of courage registered for my first race post-surgery on August 10.

I am not expecting anything whatsoever.  I just want to run it A) Pain-free B) Have fun and C) Renew my love for the run.  No goal time.  Goal times can complicate a comeback, and since I have worked up to running 5 miles straight with an average pace of 8:20-8:30/mile  I am expecting something similar pace wise.    Speed will comeback eventually.  I just must have patience and faith in the run.  And faith that my legs will take me where I need to go.

In other news, besides #OperationComeback, I have been a pretty busy girl

First it was an epic Christmas in July at PIB to celebrate my brother’s birthday since he is now all adult-like.

DSCF5994DSCF6009 DSCF5995

This past weekend, I was able to witness and be there to support the beautiful wedding of Jess and Ryan.  I swear I am straight out of Wedding Crashers when I say that my favorite season is Wedding Season!  Jess looked absolutely beautiful and I teared up when she started to walk down the aisle and I caught the glance that passed between her and Ryan.  So full of hope, love, admiration, excitement, wonder, and faith.  A true moment that causes time to stop.

IMG_6026 IMG_6030 IMG_6044 IMG_6050a IMG_6063a IMG_6069 IMG_6076 IMG_6128

4 thoughts on “Eli in the Jungle

  1. OH man I almost teared up reading this. Love all the pictures you snapped. I haven’t had time to do my recap…recaps yet but I can’t wait so I can relive it all over again.

Leave a Reply

