supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

You Have To Learn To Walk First…

2 Comments

…before you can start running again.  I am now 8 days out from knee arthroscopy.  I think I am recovering well per my own standards as myself and as a PT.  I am still, however, having some residual soreness on the inside of my knee especially if I overdo.  This, however, is totally normal and a sign that I need to ease back into my normal, daily activities.  Patience has never been a virtue for me.  I think when it came out to doling virtues, I completely skipped over patience and instead took several heaping helpings of ‘pain in the a’ (on my good days).

Look at me being a pain!

Look at me being a pain!

I am craving to get back outside.  The beautiful weather, albeit humid weather, is not helping matters.  The one upside to having surgery when I did, is that I generally detest humid summer months when it comes to exercise.  And now, I get to miss out on the worst parts of summer (oh wait, that’s usually August) and make my glorious comeback still during the summer (probably in August).  I am really not a fan of August.

Yes I'm coming after you again one day, 13.1 miles of distance running.  I had big plans for a major PR until taking my reprieve from anything >5 miles.

Yes I’m coming after you again one day, 13.1 miles of distance running. I had big plans for a major PR until taking my reprieve from anything >5 miles.

I saw my Ortho Surgeon this week and he was generally pleased with the outcome of the surgery and how I am currently progressing.  When I asked about athletics he said “3-4 weeks” but to initially avoid “pounding activities”.  The PT in me says “well yeah, I figured that much”. So my current cardio regimen (or lack thereof) has been to re-establish my ability to tolerate standing and walking.  I am now up to 15 minutes on the bike and 15 minutes of walking on the treadmill.  Not too shabby for 8 days out.

But I really want to do this rehab thing right.  I want to come back to running for realsies (not for fake) and be able to get back to my old distances.  That means easing back.  That means potentially going to a Good Form Running Clinic (I’ve been eyeing you Dave’s Running) and purchasing a book on Chi Running.  I know what I do wrong, now I need to fix it.  I’ve managed to correct my heel striking, but now I need to correct my posture both at my trunk and at my hips and knees.

Why are you leaning backwards while running you terribly formed Eli? Are your legs faster than your upper body? Apparently.

Why are you leaning backwards while running you terribly formed Eli? Are your legs faster than your upper body? Apparently.

Because really, it’s about running for life.  And playing soccer as long as I can.  I can’t wait to be back up to running my favorite loops, trails, and courses.  And I definitely can’t wait to get back onto a field and pass a ball around.  I’m a ways away from being able to tolerate contact, but just frolicking on grass and trying to make my Hubby look dumb in goal are always good, enjoyable times.

My token soccer picture that I like to throw in now and then.  Really, I need to scan more pictures.  I swear I did more than run past this one girl that one time.

My token soccer picture that I like to throw in now and then. Really, I need to scan more pictures. I swear I did more than run past this one girl that one time.

My Hubby is such a good soccer player

My Hubby is such a good soccer player

2 thoughts on “You Have To Learn To Walk First…

  1. It is so great that you are allowing yourself to do the recovery right. I have a podiatry appointment next week for a neuroma in my left foot and I know it will require surgery, and it is bumming me out. Here is hoping for a quick recovery for you and me!

    • Thanks, I hope I recover as fast as possible. It’s hard not to try things too quickly but in the long haul, it will only set you back. Hopefully if you need surgery it goes well! I’ve heard neuromas are super painful to run on.

Leave a Reply

