supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

When Grasping at Straws is Not Enough

4 Comments

I tried everything.  I rested.  I iced.  I compressed.  I cross trained.  I changed shoes.  I changed running form.  I strengthened.  I PT’d.  I foam rolled.  I anti-inflammatoried.  

 

And one thing has remained constant.  My knee is not getting any better.  It has its good days where it doesn’t hurt, but it has its bad days where it is really sore, catches, clicks, or feels like someone is taking an ice pick to it.  I try to hold those days inside and pretend like I’m not hurting.  Try to pretend that I don’t always wear my CEP sleeves under my work clothes.  Pretend that sometimes I don’t put my Cho-Pat strap on at work.  Try to pretend I don’t go home everyday and ice my knee 2-3 times a night.

Pretending can only take you so far and for so long.

I saw my Orthopedic Surgeon today.  He is pretty sure I have a meniscal tear.  And possibly a meniscal cyst that has resulted from the tear being there for so long.  He thinks I may have even had a few sutures from my previous meniscal repair come loose.  Whatever the case, he gave me the following options: 1) Do nothing.  2) Cortisone and future surgery or 3) Surgery in the very near future.  

Being that I’ve been at about a chronic 2-3/10 pain rating on a Visual Analogue Scale (Oh the PT in me) since January with occasional 5’s thrown in there, I elected to do what is best for me.

I’m having surgery in June.  And then the rehab is going to be on like Donkey Kong.  And I am going to get back to my normal.  I will stand for nothing less.

4 thoughts on “When Grasping at Straws is Not Enough

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the surgery. Though psyched you’re gonna knock it out and hit the rehab early. Why wait and be miserable. I’m having a non-running related surgery next week and will be looking forward to building back up. You’ll be smoking 5ks before you know it!!

  2. 😦 booo sorry to hear about the surgery but the PT in you will get yourself back up and running before you know it!

Leave a Reply

