supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Adventures in Pacing: Viking Victory Run

4 Comments

It’s no huge secret that the whole reason my posts have been few and far between is because I have not been running a whole bunch.  My knee has been nothing short of a giant butthead and I have been waiting since March for an appointment with my ortho doc.  It makes me sad and frustrated that I have been dealing with this issue now for a year with nothing changed.  Self treating can only go so far…and in this case, it has lasted a whole year.  I have been spending more time playing on the bike and elliptical, just trying to find something to stay active and maintain some sort of fitness.  So needless to say, even though I know I still have some speed, I have kept the minimal running at a slower pace when I do put on my Brooks.  (I feel like I am writing a sad letter right now )

Image

This past weekend was the Viking Victory Run.  I was not planning on even touching any races until I see my ortho at the end of May.  But my Mom was planning on running a race that was for her school district and the thoughts of spending some time with her/helping her out were something I could not pass up.  She has made her triumphant return to running after spending the better part of last year on the DL.  I can only hope that when I officially go on the DL that I can return just as strong as her.

Her last 5K was at the beginning of April and she clocked a 27:03.  The Viking Victory Run course was to be a bit more challenging, with a greater number of hills.  When I told her I wanted to help pace her, she seemed hesitant.  Being my loving Mom, she doesn’t want to either A) Hold me back from doing my best or B) See me in pain.  I assured her that I wasn’t planning on doing my best until my knee is A-Ok and that running slower would be fine.  

So away we went, to a drizzling 50 degree morning in North Canton.  I registered easily (I think this is the first race day registration I’ve ever done!) and even scored a race shirt.  We warmed up slowly, scouting out part of the course.  Quickly enough, it was time to line up for the start.

ImageImage

The race starts in front of Hoover High School and proceeds down 7th Street, starting first slightly uphill which leads to a HUGE downhill.  Knowing our pace for the first mile split would be fast and therefore to bank time to account for a hilly Mile 2, I pushed our pace.

Mile 1 clocked in at 8:19.

Once we hit the first mile, I kept trying to motivate my Mom to keep going.  She was running strong, although her breathing was a little heavier than usual for a race.  We slowed slightly and prepared for the rolling hills.

Image

Mile 2 clocked in at 8:43.

At this point, I think my Mom may have said “I think I’m going to throw up”.  Although that may have been the hill we were running up talking.  I felt bad that I was pushing her that hard, but I also know she is one tough cookie.  (Might be where I get it from–sometimes haha).  We looped into the turnaround and headed back towards the Stadium.

Running into the Stadium allowed us to see that we had nearly a lap to run around the track!  Pacing fail!  I should have told her that we still had .2 miles to go as she was already kicking.

Mile 3 clocked in at 8:29.

However, my Mom is awesome and kept her final kick strong.  She finished the last 0.1 miles in 7:22/mile pace.

Image

Image

Final time: 26:29 (8:32/mile)
I cannot tell you how big the smile was on her face.  And I was so happy that I helped her to accomplish her goal of not only breaking 27 minutes, but 26:30! 

Mom finished 1st in her Age Group
She was ecstatic that she was able to drop 34 seconds off her 5K time in only 3 weeks!
Comeback of the Year Continues on! (Hopefully mine will be next…hope hope hope)

Image

4 thoughts on “Adventures in Pacing: Viking Victory Run

  1. You are such a good daughter! I didn’t realize you were having so many issues with your knee again. Total bummer and I feel your pain. Get well so we can race in the fall!

    • yeah i fake being healthy well and can have a high pain tolerance when i have endorphins going…its been bugging me since christmas. i want to get better so i can do another race with you! 😦

  2. Your mom did awesome and you’re a pacing champ! I can barely pace myself let alone someone else.

    • I know I am so proud of her! Considering she is in the 55-59 age she is kicking some serious booty. I am a student of the treadmill which I think has made me good at pacing…or just good at watching my Garmin

Leave a Reply

