supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Race Recap: Miles for Madison 5K

1 Comment

Spur of the Moment Racing at its finest.  I decided I was going to be visiting the parental units with Hubs earlier this week to visit and pick up some huge Easter baskets full of a variety of eggs: mainly Twix, Milky Way, and Snickers (the way all eggs were meant to be).  They were planning on running a race and wanted to know if I would also be participating.  I waited until Friday morning to register because my stupid piece of gigantic crap of a knee has been a major turd nugg as of late.  Once again, another story for another day.

Miles for Madison 5K took place at Norwayne High School in Creston, OH.  This race had not even been anywhere close to being on my radar, but I am so glad I did it.  The race was to benefit research and awareness for Stevens Johnson Syndrome; an autoimmune disorder that attacks the mucous membranes of the body.  Madison, the young girl whom the race was in honor of, is doing well now after recovering from SJS and presided over handing out awards and even ran the 5K herself!  For a first year race, it was well run and had a great turnout of >600 runners.

Image

 

DSC_6550-M

We arrived in Creston bright and early.  The air was chilly, about 36 degrees with a nice breeze. That nice breeze accompanied the savory aroma of cow poop that permeated the air.  That sentence is Shakespearean (is that a word?)  My mom and I did a quick warm-up and watched the TRex prance about like it was going out of style.  At 9:25 we got situated to toe the line.  At 9:30 the siren went off to start the race.

I was not expecting anything out of myself.  I have skipped out on speedwork for the past 3 weeks. I have been hanging out on the elliptical more. I have taken more rest days than I have taken in the past 3 years.  I have switched over to frolicking more on the grassy, woodland trails of the Erie County Parks System.

DSC_6737-M

So I started out tentatively, and just did what my body would allow.  The first mile was slightly downhill and I fought to gain my position in relation to the mass of runners.  I hit the first water stop and first mile marker at 6:44.

DSC_6749-M

It was at this point that the course turned into a nice headwind.  I tried to run through several quick mechanic checks in my head “keep your stride short”, “lean forward”, “keep your elbows tucked in”.  Mile 2 clocked in at 7:14.

At mile 2.5 we turned again into the headwind.  Which also corresponded with the only hill in the race.  And a long, drawn out doozy it was.  It slowly climbed, plateaued, and climbed once more. At the top, we had a steady decline back to the high school.  Turned left.  Mile 3 clocked in at 7:14.  Rounded the building and finished by running across the track.  Last 0.1 clocked in at 5:59/mile pace.

Final Finish: 21:42 (7:00/mile)
Overall: 44/612
Females: 7/383
Age Group: 1/34

It is important to note that I am making horrible faces while finishing due to exhaustion, not because I had to drop a deuce.  Although the faces could mislead you to think so.  And my hands appear that TRex hands are genetic.  Gosh darnit.
ImageImage

Image

My Mom clocked in for her 3rd race since the Greatest Comeback of All Time in 27:03 (3rd AG)

Image
Image

and my RaceWalking TRex of a Father clocked in at 33:03.

Image

Image

Happy Running!

One thought on “Race Recap: Miles for Madison 5K

  1. Love your race finishing faces. Those are great. Amos as good as the last picture with the woman in purple lol.

Leave a Reply

