supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

The 5 Days of Vacation

2 Comments

It is rare for me to take a ton of time off work in a row because I like to hoard my PTO like an episode of Hoarders.  You never know what can happen throughout a year and I like to be a doomsday prepper when it comes to PTO.  Which inevitably leads to having a large accumulation of time left for the month of December.  I took Wednesday->Friday off from work this week to use some time up.  I figured it would help me to finally feel like I was ready in both heart, mind, and soul to celebrate Christmas.  Tack on the weekend and I have 5 days off from work.

Eli Claus is coming to town!

Eli Claus is coming to town!

On the first day of vacation (yesterday), I chose to do 4 loads of laundry.  People watched the hell out of the laundromat.  Got my oil changed in my car.  Did a ton of grocery shopping for my holiday cooking/baking.  Ran 6.5 miles.  And was in my pajamas by 3:00 PM.  Watched 3 Family Channel made-for-TV Christmas movies.  Drank a beer.  Had 99 Bananas and made awful faces.  And then promptly passed out.  Oh the amazing life I lead.

On my second day of vacation (today), I chose to crack the whip on some holiday baking.  Hubs needs some goodies for his work shin-dig tomorrow, so I chose 2 of my favorite recipes.  Yes, THIS girl *points two thumbs at self* can bake AND cook pretty well when time allows.

Truffles!!!

Truffles!!!

I am pretty sure that maybe everyone has eaten or made Oreo Truffles at some point.  They are super popular around the Holidays.  And super awesomely easy to make.  The above picture is my Mom’s recipe.

I finally used my food processor that has been gathering dust since June 2011

I finally used my food processor that has been gathering dust since June 2011

You start by placing all the Oreo’s in a food processor and grinding until they are like Oreo dust.  Mix with the softened cream cheese.  This results in this.

Oreo and cream cheese monstrosity

Oreo and cream cheese monstrosity

Now comes the fun part.  Rolling the above concoction into tiny balls.  Tiny brown balls.

Get a load of my chocolate, salty balls

Get a load of my chocolate, salty balls

The balls must be refrigerated for 1 hour before proceeding.  Once cold, the balls can be dipped into melted dark chocolate and placed onto waxed paper.  You can choose to use festive sprinkles on top.

Yum!! Truffles all done and ready to refrigerate!

Yum!! Truffles all done and ready to refrigerate!

Messy fingers usually result

Messy fingers usually result

 

Caution: Truffles may make you look super creeptastic

Caution: Truffles may make you look super creeptastic

Once I was done playing finger paint with chocolate, I cleaned up the kitchen for Round 2.  Since I started making these particular cookies, whenever I get invited anywhere I am not allowed to make anything BUT these.  I can hardly take credit for the recipe, I got it from Picky Palate.  However, at my work place it’s a given that I have to make these every 1-2 months or else the natives get restless.  What can I say?  They and I love S’mores Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Start with the sugars, softened butter and place into a mixing bowl

Start with the sugars, softened butter and place into a mixing bowl

Ingredients placed inside mixing bowl, beat together until blended well.

Ingredients placed inside mixing bowl, beat together until blended well.

Add vanilla and eggs and beat again.

Add vanilla and eggs and beat again.

Place all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix together.  Then gradually add to mixer, blending well.

Place all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix together. Then gradually add to mixer, blending well.

Add in dry mixture.

Add in dry mixture.

Next add in chocolate chips.  Basically, making chocolate chip cookie dough.

Next add in chocolate chips. Basically, making chocolate chip cookie dough.

Now for the fun part.  This is where I deviate from the actual recipe.  The Picky Palate version calls for making a s’more and surrounding it in cookie dough.  From experience, this results in this recipe only making like 6 Frisbee sized cookies.  So, I like to make my balls of dough on the cookie sheet and place the s’more ingredients on top.  Making sure to add the ever important last dollop of dough on top so that it will bake over.

Ingredients placed on top

Ingredients placed on top

Added dollop of dough

Added dollop of dough

Pre-entering the oven

Pre-entering the oven

After baking at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, the end result!

Post oven!

Post oven!

S'mores Chocolate Chip Cookies!

S’mores Chocolate Chip Cookies!

What will the next 3 Days of vacation bring?  I plan to fly by the seat of my pants on those.  And try not to blow away in the 50 mph sustained winds tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “The 5 Days of Vacation

  1. You had 99 bananas? why not eat 100 bananas at that point 😉 just kidding.
    I make Oreo truffles all the time…except I call them by a much more appropriate name…black balls. And I always melt the chocolate so its just crushed oreos and cream cheese.
    Those smores cookies look AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • if I had one more banana it would have been 100 bananas….FLOOR! and i will have to make you the s’mores cookies sometime, they are sooo good but 1 does you in for the day.

Leave a Reply

