supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Race Recap: Santa Hustle 5K

6 Comments

I’m hustler, baby.  I just want you to know.

The Santa Hustle was something I had marked on my racing calendar since a Groupon offer came about and I had to pounce on it.  I couldn’t turn a chance to run a holiday themed race (centered around my favorite holiday) in my own backyard.  I chose to run the 5K because I am a giant wussy kid and thought the weather in December could be cold, windy, and downright miserable.  So instead of enduring 1.5 hours +, I elected to choose 22-23 minutes of misery.  And then it decided to be 50 degrees out on December 16.  Blasphemy.

I still had a blast doing the 5K.  I convinced my parents to register and was super pumped that 2 of my besties from college also decided to partake (Jess was a total BAMF and ran the Half Marathon. She obviously is not a giant wussy kid like me.)

Pre-Race Shenanigans

Pre-Race Shenanigans

The race started and finished at Castaway Bay.  I was concerned that parking would become an issue, so we got to the race extra early and got to pass off Jess her race packet.

Teabaggin Fo Life.  Son.

Teabaggin Fo Life. Son.

Before starting my own warm-up, I wanted to watch Jess and the other Half Marathoners start.

The Half Marathon getting lined up

The Half Marathon getting lined up

The finish line all set up

The finish line all set up

Just prior the start of the Half Marathon

Just prior the start of the Half Marathon

Oh look! I've spotted a Jess!

Oh look! I’ve spotted a Jess!

Off and running.  Being distracted by Jackie.  Totally acceptable.

Off and running. Being distracted by Jackie. Totally acceptable.

Once the Half Marathon was off and out of Castaway, I started getting warmed up.  I felt pretty good, I was just worried about the 20 mph wind that was coming out of the South that was sure to majorly suck anus.  And boy was I right.

We took off right on time and even though I lined up towards the front, I still found myself getting out rather slow and having to weave around so many slow runners.  I didn’t find clearance from the pack until well beyond Breakers Express.  Yuck.  I pushed and felt comfortable.  I was sure that given the right conditions I would have been able to hold pace.  My goal was to stick to a 7:00/mile pace.  And I did until I hit the turnaround.

And then I quit holding pace and started thinking I would rather eat cookies and walk.  I just wanted to finish.  My body felt like it was going to blow off the causeway.  There was no letting up from the wind.  It hurt my body to lean forward into it.  It just plain sucked to run into the 20 mph wind for over a mile.  My thoughts wandered to poor Jess stuck out on the Half Marathon course and how she was going to have to run into this wind for over 3 miles.  So I made up my mind to finish, take pictures of my family and friends, and then help her finish.  I crossed the finish line in 22:48.

Dying at the end of my race

Dying at the end of my race

Good enough to place 3rd in my Age Group, 12th Female Overall.  Happy with it, but not what I was aiming for certainly.  Had it not been so windy, I think I would have been awfully close to breaking 22 again.

Jeremy entering the Finish area

Jeremy entering the Finish area

My Mom rounding the final turn

My Mom rounding the final turn

Mom finishing her first 5K back since June...a smidge over 28 minutes and a 1st in her age group!  So happy for her!

Mom finishing her first 5K back since June…a smidge over 28 minutes and a 1st in her age group! So happy for her!

T-Rex Race walking it in

T-Rex Race walking it in

Almost done!

Almost done!

My Mom is so cute.  Stylish IT Band Stretching.

My Mom is so cute. Stylish IT Band Stretching.

Once my picture fiesta was over, I ran out along the course again and settled into a spot about 1.5 miles from the finish.  And waited for a flash of neon green.

Running back along the course...the photographer was like where are you going?

Running back along the course…the photographer was like where are you going? Also, it appears the man in the background may be spreading his own Christmas Joy.

The runners coming across the Causeway with Cedar Point in the background

The runners coming across the Causeway with Cedar Point in the background

DSCF5127a DSCF5128a

And together we ran the last 1+ mile together and hopefully helped keep her going through that horrendous wind.

Best Picture Ever!

Best Picture Ever!

Take Number 1 of our picture...LOVE IT

Take Number 1 of our picture…LOVE IT

When we actually behave...Love these girls

When we actually behave…Love these girls

So happy to be able to have my parents there with me!

So happy to be able to have my parents there with me!

My overall race experience was great.  The location was wonderful, I loved the Christmas theme and seeing all the clever costumes, and I loved running into family/friends.  The course was fairly flat and the only drawback was the horrible wind.  My age group medal was cute and good quality.  Next year I would love to do the Half and get to venture through Cedar Point.  This race is definitely a must do!

6 thoughts on “Race Recap: Santa Hustle 5K

  1. Love all the pictures in this post…and not just because they are of me 😉 Thanks so much for pacing me at the end, you can see in the pictures how much my body was turning and fighting the wind. So tired and still sre from the wind.
    Did you know there is snow falling on some of your pics? way cool!
    Hope they have this race again next year because I would love to do it with you guys again!

  2. I wish I had found you! So many red shirts I couldn’t find anyone I knew! Congrats on a great race, like there was any doubt. You will have to do the half next year for sure, hopefully with the same weather of course. Running the park was actually super cool!

    • i was bummed that i didn’t run into you so we could formally meet and say hello! thanks and congrats on your race as well…i am hoping to do the half next year, it had to be so much fun running through the park!

  3. I was SO bummed that I couldn’t run the half like I wanted to…stupid knee injury. Glad you had fun!!

    • i was wondering if you had ran it or not…hopefully they have it again this year, you would love it! at least you are taking care of your knee and getting it back to good health, that is way more important than one race 🙂

Leave a Reply

