supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Yo si le voy, le voy al Columbus!

1 Comment

As you may or may not be aware, my life does not totally revolve around running.  I have many other hobbies and interests, but I feel like I may bore you if I described my love for rice cakes and watching The New Girl.

One of my first loves was soccer.  I started playing at the age of 8 and was so god awful terrible that my mother wanted to pay me to quit.  My favorite soccer “play” was to run alongside the person with the ball on the other team and not take it from them.  I was little timid, to say the least.  But then I grew up, grew a pair (figuratively speaking), and became a beast.  I played all the way up through high school and college.  Running became a means after team sports to stay in shape.  Until recently (due to Mr. Lumpy), I had even been playing men’s open indoor.  I am hoping my departure from my first love remains brief as I would be none too happy if instructed to permanently hang up my cleats.

For Hubs birthday this year, I bought him tickets to go see the Columbus Crew play.  He and I both share the same love soccer and it was a perfect gift for him.  We have some friends that live down in Columbus and it became a mini weekend of tailgating, Columbus Crew-ing, catching up with old friends, making new friends, and chanting a familiar chant involving male sausages.

Image

Josh wondering why Mike keeps touching him

Image

Our sweet Crew tailgate set-up…these people are professionals and mean business

Image

Pierce thinking about Manchester United

It was wonderful to be able to meet up with Steph and Josh, who are part of my super awesomesauce amazing college group of friends.  We may not see each other that often, but I love that the banter and general crap talking picks up right where it left off.

Image

Image

Hubs getting his emo on

We had tickets in Section 103, Row 1.  Couldn’t have asked for a better position to see the field and action.  At halftime, all of the mascots for Crew sponsors and Ohio sports teams played a scrimmage.  I was so pumped to see the Cavaliers MoonDog take the field with Sir CC.  (I have a mini mascot crush on MoonDog)

The only bad part of the game was that I had to sit right next to some smelly BO.  Seriously people, it is 2012 and the art of taking a shower has been perfected and if I can smell you, likely you can also smell yourself.  Use soap, don’t be a dope.

Columbus managed to squeak out a 3-2 victory of the Philadelphia Union off a questionable goal near the end of the game (I thought it was offsides but the AR with the bubble butt seemed to be having trouble keeping up with the play). A good end to a fantastic Saturday of tailgating and soccer!

Image

The bubble butt AR. He needed to take lessons in side shuffling as he was always out of position to make an offside call.

ImageImageImage

All in all, it was a great time and way to celebrate Hubs B-day belatedly 🙂
YO SI LE VOY LE VOY AL COLUMBUS!

One thought on “Yo si le voy, le voy al Columbus!

  1. Cannot even begin to tell you how jealous I am that you hung out with the elusive steph and Josh

Leave a Reply

