supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Race Recap: Camp Mowana Run Through the Pines 5K

Leave a comment

I have been slacking on the race recap front as of late.  Last weekend, I ran the Camp Mowana “Run Through the Pines” 5k down in Mansfield, OH.  It was billed as a Cross Country and Trail Race…yay!  Given my lack of overall knee stability, I figured it could either end well or terribly should I decide to trip on a tree root, fall into a mud pit, and simultaneously tear all my ligaments in my knees.  I chose to end the race well.

Hubs and I left Sandtown bright and early in order to make it down to Mansfield for the 9:00 AM race start.  Camp Mowana (or Camp Anawanna as Mike kept calling it ala Salute Your Shorts style) is in the middle of nowhere.  Literally was driving down some country roads when *BAM* you’re there.  It was very wooded.  And rustic.  I think rustic is a fancy way of saying that we had to walk a half mile to pick up our race packets and walked uphill the majority of the way while deciding we were not going to have a dip in the green outdoor pool that was offered free use for the racers.

Hubs looking well prepared for trail racing. His outfit was loud enough that I could hear him when I went to the bathroom.

Reading to run with my jacked up jank Mr. Lumpy esque douchebag knee. 🙂

Even though my definition of rustic sounds like as much fun as getting told to turn and cough, I very much enjoyed this race once it started.  I am still waiting for the race pictures to get uploaded online (thus the main reason this post is so delayed) but the course was challenging and never boring.  We started by running uphill on a gravel drive, switched to grass with lumps galore, ran through a barn, ran past a tee-pee, ran past a climbing wall, hopped over a lot of roots and branches, and successfully rolled my ankles probably 4-5 times.

The Race Start

And we’re off!

Running through the barn…apparently Hubs and I ran so fast that we outran the cameras since there were zero pictures of us running the race

Hubs ran with me for the majority of the race, breaking away at approximately the 1.5 mile mark.  For whatever reason, my legs were tired.  I never got physically tired, but my legs would not give me an ounce of effort.  So I put it into cruise control for an “acceptable” effort, cursing my stupid need to run stupid speedwork involving a ladder workout on Wednesday.  Whenever I give myself proper rest, I think I’ll PR in the 5K again.  I was super pumped because I could only see one girl ahead of me.  Another girl passed me at the 2 mile mark, but I secretly smiled when crossing the finish line because I just KNEW I was 3rd overall.

Hubs finished in 24:27 and placed 2nd overall in the 25-29 age group.  Score Hubs!

He is obviously ecstatic that he just received that medal. It’s more like “get me out of here so I can drink beer” type of smile.

And then I wasn’t awarded 3rd overall.  Per the race results, I was beaten by 10 seconds.  Yet I was confused because I never saw another female in front of me except for the 2 I accounted.  “Kerry stupidhead” was awarded 3rd overall.  I was 4th.  Aka 1st in the 25-29 year old age group with a final finishing time of 24:57.

Happy to be done twisting my ankles and also secretly snarking about being beaten by 51 year old “Kerry stupidface”

When we got back from Mansfield, I eagerly checked the Ohio Challenge Series (as I do after every race even though I already know my finishing time because I like to overanalyze my races).  Somehow, magically, the race results had changed to this.

FEMALE OVERALL RESULTS

Place No.   Name                  Age City               St Time     
===== ===== ===================== === ================== == ======== 
    1  2297 Lindsey Leatherman     13 Seville            OH 22:05.9
    2   725 Jackie Iceman          25 Loudonville        OH 24:41.3
    3   743 Elizabeth Mason        27 Sandusky           OH 24:57.2

Mickey freaking Mouse dressed in his Fantasia glory must have magic’d the crap out of the results.

So I will just say this race hosed me.  “Kerry” the female was magically “Kerry” the MAN.  And Eli was not given her 3rd Overall race medal.  It is only the 2nd time in my young running life that I have placed overall.  And since the occurrence of such happens as often as pigs fly, I was sad that I was not contacted by the race director to correct this.  However, I still felt like I had a good racing experience and if it works into my plans next year, I will probably be back to race this one again.  I always enjoy a good, challenging course!  Even if I get beat by she-males.

Leave a Reply

