supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

Churchill’s Half Marathon

1 Comment

This past Sunday (3/18) I ran my 6th Half Marathon.  I somehow convinced my mom to let me death march pace her for what we were going to only call a “Long Run”.  No, I did not race this one.  Instead, I spent 2 hours of quality time with my Mom 🙂

Image

Image

Churchill’s Half is a staple in the NW Ohio running community.  What everyone failed to tell me, was that the course is boring as all butt wipes.  It really does make one giant loop around all of Monclova.  In a straightaway, turn about kind of fashion.  And had a severe lack of water stops.

Our goal was to keep as close to 9’s as possible.  This lasted for the first 8 miles.  And then Momma M started to get too hot and we had to slow it down.  Up to that point, however, she did fantastic!  We split apart at Mile 11.5 and I  pushed a bit to the finish.  Somehow I was still close to nearly placing in my age group even though Miles 9-11 averaged about a 9:25 pace.

Finish Time: Momma M: 2:02:06 (1st Place in her age group!), Eli: 2:00:11 (Probably 7th in my age group)…considering I paced with my mom, I was surprised I was so close to top 5.  The best part? My legs feel fine today! Hooray for family bonding!

Negatives: seriously.  water stops at miles 1,3,7,10, and 12 don’t cut it.  Especially when the race started at 10 when the temp was already 65.  every runner in my vicinity complained of this.  very little crowd support minus the sign that read: “You’re NOT Going to Win”.  very poor water distribution at the finish.

Positives: running with my mom, quick awards at the finish line, post-race cookies, wearing a new tank top, getting a little suntan, running 13.1 for the 6th time!

Also, I wore this outfit on a training run last week.  Mike made fun of me.  What gives?  This is totally a hot look for me!

Image

Happy Running!  Especially running in the Global Warming Weather!

One thought on “Churchill’s Half Marathon

  1. You look hot, tell Mike to stop being a hater or I will cut him….or call him Michael Jackson Mason 😉

Leave a Reply

