supereli23

Running Through a Fulfilled Life

I Am Determined to Quit Heel Striking

2 Comments

So, my last trip to Second Sole to spend the $75 gift certificate that was burning a gigantic hole in my pocket led me to purchase…

*drumroll please*

The Brooks Pure Flow.

I tried on the Asics Gel-Blur, Saucony Kinvara 2, and the Brooks Pure Flow.   I went back and forth between the Kinvara and Pure Flow.  They both were very light weight (Kinvara weighs 7 oz and Pure Flow weighs 8 oz) and were in general just a welcome change from my heavier Asics Nimbus.  Both had good cushioning and support through the  midfoot and forefoot, allowing for easy transition when pushing off to transition into swing phase of the running stride. (the physical therapist in me allows for FAR TOO MUCH analysis into gait).  The main difference I noted was that the Pure Flow had a lower heel drop, making it almost feel that when walking that my heel was lower than my midfoot.   

Needless to say, the past week or so I have been practicing running in the Pure Flow since it forces a midfoot strike. Not that it is totally minimalist, but I would definitely classify it as a transitional minimalist shoe.  The first couple of runs lasting 3-4 miles apiece I noted increased calf soreness just from the strain of absorbing more shock through my Achilles/Gastroc/Soleus complex.  However, after a couple of runs, I was able to finally rip off a 6 mile treadmill run today averaging a 8:08 pace with 800 repeats thrown in during (of 7:30-7:45/mile variety).  

They finally felt GREAT.  And I felt FAST.  And SEXY.   

Image

I would have jumped higher in this picture had I been in Brooks Pure Flows.

Moral of the story: if you plan on buying the Pure Flow and are transitioning from a more cushioned shoe with a higher heel drop, you will need to give yourself some time to slowly change your running style.  If you attempt to transition too quickly, you could definitely injure yourself (as I have heard of several people having difficulty with these shoes).  However the wait is worth it, they definitely feel lighter and faster!

2 thoughts on “I Am Determined to Quit Heel Striking

  1. I want these shoes!!!!! I am hoping to find a pair on sale in a couple of months!!!!

Leave a Reply

